Resolution Approving the Re-Appointment of the Members of the Integrity Commission Motion, 2024.

WHEREAS, section 3(1) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, Chapter 105 of the Substantive Laws of Belize, Revised Edition 2020, provides for the establishment of a body to be known as the Integrity Commission which shall consist of a Chairperson, who shall be an attorney-at-law with not less than five years standing, and six other members who shall be persons of integrity and high national standing;

AND WHEREAS, it is further provided by sub-section (2) of that section that two members of the Integrity Commission shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, given with the concurrence of the Leader of the Opposition, and the other members of the Integrity Commission, including the Chairperson, shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister given after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition;

AND WHEREAS, it is further provided by sub-section (3) of that section that at least one member of the Integrity Commission shall be a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Belize;

AND WHEREAS, the Honourable Prime Minister, after consultation with the concurrence of the Leader of the Opposition, as the case may be, intends to advise the Governor-General to re-appoint the following persons as members of the Integrity Commission for a further period of two (2) years with effect from 1st April 2024:-

i. (Attor	Chairperson		
ii. (Mem	Mr. George Swift ber of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Belize	e) –	Member
iii.	Ms. Katherine Meighan	_	Member
iv.	Mrs. Zoe Roberson-Zetina	_	Member
v.	Mr. Ricardo Moguel	_	Member
vi.	Ms. Payal Ghanwani	_	Member
vii.	Mr. Jaraad Ysaguirre	_	Member

AND WHEREAS, section 61A(2)(c) of the Belize Constitution provides that the Senate shall approve the appointment of the members of the Integrity Commission;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable Senate, being satisfied that the persons the Honourable Prime Minister intends to advise the Governor-General to re-appoint as members of the Integrity Commission are persons of integrity and high national standing, hereby approves the re-appointment of the following persons as members of the Integrity Commission for a further period of two (2) years with effect from 1st April 2024:–

i. (Attor	Chairperson		
ii. (Mem	Mr. George Swift ber of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Belize	e) –	Member
iii.	Ms. Katherine Meighan	_	Member
iv.	Mrs. Zoe Roberson-Zetina	_	Member
v.	Mr. Ricardo Moguel	_	Member
vi.	Ms. Payal Ghanwani	_	Member
vii.	Mr. Jaraad Ysaguirre	_	Member